Pillars of Islam

Pillars of Islam

The Five Pillars of Islam:

Pillars of Islam known in Arabic Arkan e Islam, the five duties necessary for each one Muslim. first Rukn is Shahadah, the Muslim profession of faith; The second Rukn is salat, or Prayer, performed in a prescribed manner five times every day. Third Rukn is zakat, the alms tax levied to benefit the poor and the needy; sawm, fasting during the month of Ramadan; and hajj, the major pilgrimage to Mecca.

Shahada (Testimony):

The testimony of faith is saying with conviction, “La ilaha illa Allah, Muhammadur rasoolu Allah.” This saying means “There is no true god (deity) but Allah, and Muhammad Sallaho Alayhi Wa Sallam is the last Messenger (Prophet) of Allah.” The first part of Sahadah is, “There is no true god but Allah,” means that none has the right to be worshipped but Allah alone and that Allah has neither partner nor son.
When any male or female uttered this testimony, it means that he has accepted by these wordings and his heart that there is no single thing in this world possess the right to be worshipped. And to be the aim of worshipping but Allah. All is worshipped but Allah is null and wrong, and must never be worshipped.

The confession to obey The Prophet Shallallaahu’alayhe wa Sallam in all of his guidance (shari’a), whether in the form of news, commands, or prohibitions. When any male or female accepted that Muhammad Salaho Alayle Wa Sallam is the Last Messenger of Allah, it means that he or she should be ready to follow the consequences below:

  1. Obeying all his commands.
  2. Abandoning all his prohibitions.
  3. Admitting that all news that he brought is true.
  4. Do not perform any kind of prayer or worship unless it is in accordance with his guidance Shallallaahu’alayhe wa Sallam.

This testimony of faith is known as the Shahada, Very simple thing which should be said with conviction in order to convert to Islam (as explained previously on this page). In Islam, This Rukn is very most important.


Anyone Muslim; Even a school child knows that salat is a pillar of Islam. What Sayyidna Umar, Radi-Allahu anhu, expressed was that it is true at all levels and in all settings, from the private to the public. One cannot build an Islamic life, an Islamic community, an Islamic institution, or an Islamic government while neglecting or weakening this pillar. It is a measure of its extraordinary status that unlike all other obligations the command for salat was given by Allah Most High to Prophet Muhammad Sall-Allahu alayhi wa sallam during his miraculous Ascent to Heaven or Meraj.
In easy words, for salat is the meraj of the Momin mean believers. One begins the salat by standing while facing the Ka’ba or the House of Allah, isolating himself from the worldly affairs, and then addressing Allah directly: “Oh Allah, You are sanctified and (I begin) with Your praise. Your name is Blessed and Your Greatness is Supreme. And no one else is worthy of worship except You.” During salat a believer repeatedly stands, bows, and prostates to Allah. Each of these acts brings him closer and closer to his Master and Creator filling him with the feelings of love, devotion, and obedience. The sitting position even includes the re-creation of the conversation that took place between the Prophet Sall-Allahu alayhi wa sallam and Allah during the Heavenly Ascent.

Prophet Sall-Allahu alayhi wa sallam: “All greetings, blessings, and good acts are for Allah.”

Allah: “Peace is upon you oh Prophet, and the Mercy, and the Blessings of Allah.”

“Peace be with us and unto the righteous servants of Allah. I bear witness that there is no deity except Allah.”

“And I bear witness that Muhammad is His servant and messenger.”


Zakat, Arabic zakāt, an obligatory tax required of Muslims, one of the five Pillars of Islam. The zakat is levied on five categories of property—food grains; fruit; camels, cattle, sheep, and goats; gold and silver; and movable goods—and is payable each year after one year’s possession.

The tax levy required by religious law varies with the category. Recipients of the zakat include the poor and needy, the collectors themselves, and “those whose hearts it is necessary to conciliate”—e.g., discordant tribesmen, debtors, volunteers in jihad (holy war), and pilgrims. Under the caliphates, the collection and expenditure of zakat was a function of the state.

In the contemporary Muslim world it has been left up to the individual, except in such countries as Saudi Arabia, where the Sharīʿah (Islamic law) is strictly maintained. Among the Ithnā ʿAsharīyah (Twelver Shīʿites), it is collected and disbursed by the scholars (ʿulamāʾ), who act as representatives for Muḥammad al-Mahdī al-Hujjah (the Hidden Imam).

The Qurʾān and Hadith (sayings and actions of the Prophet Muhammad) also stress ṣadaqah, or voluntary almsgiving, which, like zakat, is intended for the needy. Twelver Shīʿites, moreover, require payment of an additional one-fifth tax, the khums, to the Hidden Imam and his deputies. It is intended to be spent for the benefit of the imams in addition to orphans, the poor, and travelers.


Ṣawm, (Arabic: “fasting”), in Islām, any religious fast, but particularly the fast of the month of Ramaḍān. Every year in the month of Ramadan,4 all Muslims fast from dawn until sundown, abstaining from food, drink, and sexual relations. Although the fast is beneficial to health, it is regarded principally as a method of spiritual self-purification. By cutting oneself off from worldly comforts, even for a short time, a fasting person gains true sympathy with those who go hungry, as well as growth in his or her spiritual life.


Hajj, also spelled ḥadjdj or hadj, in Islam, the pilgrimage to the holy city of Mecca in Saudi Arabia, which every adult Muslim must make at least once in his or her lifetime. The hajj is the fifth of the fundamental Muslim practices and institutions known as the Five Pillars of Islam. The pilgrimage rite begins on the 7th day of Dhū al-Ḥijjah (the last month of the Islamic year) and ends on the 12th day.

error: Content is protected !!